Flee Combs

All things Flee.

Pressing on… October 19, 2010

Filed under: Creator thoughts... — Felicity Combs @ 10:19 am

2 Thessalonians 3:13
And as for you, brothers, never tire of doing what is right.
Philippians 3:13-14
Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Galatians 6:9
Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

1 Timothy 4:7-8, 12, 14-16
…train yourself to be godly. For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come…
Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity…
Do not neglect your gift, which was given you through a prophetic message when the body of elders laid their hands on you.
Be diligent in these matters; give yourself wholly to them, so that everyone may see your progress. Watch your life and doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers.


I read all these verses,  and in this moment my heart is saying one word, responsibility. I have a responsibility to be diligent and to work hard for God. And, the nice thing about it is that there IS a reward at the end of all the striving, although I don’t want that to be my motivation.

I’m particularly drawn to the passage in 1 Timothy…the entire chapter 4 is a gem. Just as an athlete has to train hard to accomplish his goals, so do I in my giftings God has given me if I want to see any kind of return or success in that area. We can’t avoid work, we can’t expect to get away without some hard labor going into whatever it is we desire to achieve. It’s the story of the Little Hen, right! No idleness allowed here, no laziness, no slackness! Train yourself to be godly, Press on toward the goal, Never tire of doing what is right, Don’t grow weary of doing good!
So what to do then, when I do grow weary, and I do want to throw in the towel (which inevitably will be the case at many points)? I put hope in my God of love, restoration, and strength.

 

Isaiah 40:28-31
Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.
He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.
Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Matthew 11:28
Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

Philippains 4:13
I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

 

One Response to “Pressing on…”

  1. ChristoPhat Says:

    This is so relevant:

    Galatians 6:9
    Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

    I was just having words with my boss about Faith and Perseverance. Consider our trials and hardships as an opportunity to grow our faith. I like to think that God is allowing us to experience the opportunity to strengthen our faith and relationship with the Father. So in this I strive to take joy in our trials…Philippians 3:13-14
    Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

    Great bible references

    cc


Leave a comment